The Long and Winding Road of One’s Sacred Assignment

Fairy Tale? Horror Story? All the same book.......
Fairy Tale? Horror Story? All the same book…….

I’ve always been encouraged to write,,,,, fun little prompts such as “If you don’t use a gift, it is a sin.”  or ” Why are you talking?? Begin writing!”  Well, two things…… First, I’ve never had the desire to commit anything to paper which wasn’t strictly original.  Secondly, I suspected the latter as an attempt to channel my ever-racing thoughts… into something constructive…. and quiet.

As time passes I do feel there’s more to say…… and less time to say it. Still, I’ve always vowed that I would write only  when I had something novel to say. I am a freshness freak….. derivatives drive me crazy.

Wait….. hold the phone…… wasn’t it Mark Twain who said “Write what you know?” In 2012, some writing communities deemed this quote as “misinterpreted”….. believing that a more symbolic understanding breathes new meaning into this time-honored piece of advice. Write what you know, as in write what you feel, based on what you’ve experienced. Now…. we’re getting somewhere.

Write what you know…. based on interpretation, feeling, subjective experience….. yet make it accessible, so that it connects with most anyone who comes across the piece. The clouds are beginning to part…… the light is shining through.

I’ve become quite interested in the idea of “Sacred Assignments”…… we’ve all read and heard about concepts such as The Purpose Driven Life; we’ve all been  comforted by series like Chicken Soup for the Soul. The immense popularity of such works tells me people are searching for two things; meaning, in the ordinary and encouragement, for the inevitable dark nights. These two desires combine, in my mind and heart, to create a need for discovering one’s Sacred Assignment…. and we all have one.

I am currently working on gathering ideas that are spiritually based, with practical applications….. a road map, if you will, for uncovering one’s Sacred Assignment. It is an exploration, excavation, transparent nation (no artifice on this path) of people, willing to participate in a daily process of discovery, joy, sorrow, forgiveness (for self and others), depth and openness to encounters….. of all description. Words fail me, at this time, to describe the finished product…. but I think that’s the point.

I invite you to join me as I search, seek and share. I have enthusiastically accepted all parts  of my Sacred Assignment; I am thoroughly convinced that a large portion of my assignment is partnering with you. The relationship between the writer and the reader is always sacred…… and so, this begins.

3 thoughts on “The Long and Winding Road of One’s Sacred Assignment”

Leave a comment